Summertime, AP World History, Professional Development and more!

I have been on summer break for two weeks now.  That is one of the nice things about working at Oak Hill….we always end the school year before Memorial Day.  Some teachers don’t like ending so early but I do.  Anyway, next year I will be teaching AP World Hisotry for the first time.  I worked up my syllabus and submitted it to AP College Board and was approved.  I am looking forward to this.  I plan on using Making History, The InQuizitor, and Blogging.  Blogging will be a very frequent tool in my AP course.  I will use it for my essays as well.  I haven’t decided if I will make the student blogs public or not but I will certainly update this site with how things are going.

Another thing that I have kicked around for a year or so.  I have been approached many times about doing some speaking for professional development for teachers.  For those of you who know me you understand that public speaking is certainly right up my alley…..but doing professional development for teachers is a very dangerous area in my opinion.  Too many times in my 14 years of public education we have brought in outside speakers for professional development.  Some have “earned” a hefty speaking fee and their value has been…..well……hard to find even by the most dedicated teacher.  I certainly don’t want to be a speaker that has very little value to the classroom.  Is gaming in the classroom, using 21st century technology in the classroom, and an old, bald, father of three, football coach in demand for professional development?  I don’t really know the answer to this question.  I am considering this and welcome all comments or advice about possibly starting this venture.

Other activities of my last few weeks include a trip to the Indy 500 with my father.  This year was my dad’s 49th Indy 500.  Next year we will have to do something special to celebrate his 50th.  The first pic is of my dad, brother in law, sister and me on pit road prior to the running of the race.  It is an incredible experience to be on pit road on race day.  The second pic is of Scott Dixon’s car.  A few hours later Dixon and his car were in victory circle.  I have grown up being and open wheel racing fan and was certainly glad to see Dixon win the race.  He is a good guy and easy to root for.  Probably the most memorable moment of the race was when Danica Patrick marched down pit road to go and get Ryan Briscoe who had knocked her out of the race.  She was ticked off and wanted a piece of him.  She took some crap for acting like a bi***…..but that was crap!  Tony Stewart acts like that in BORECAR all the time and everyone thinks he is a competitor……so Danica….kept getting after it! 

Leave a Reply

