Roman Art from The Louvre

My wife and I visited the Indianapolis Art Museum yesterday to see the Roman Art exhibit.  The pieces are on loan from the Louvre in Paris.  After a stop at Starbucks for a cup of overpriced joe and a scone we hit the museum early.  Luckily I had a friend visit the exhibit recently and he had mentioned what a massive crowd he had to fight.  With that warning in mind we hit the road early.  We enjoyed seeing the pieces from Roman Antiquity.  We both were fascinated with the mosaics, facades, and every day items like wine cups, rings and earrings and the like.  There is also a large full body statue of Augustus.  The first Empereror of Rome is obviously an impressive title for history and to gaze at a statue that Augustus may have also admired of himself is awakening.  That is why I love museums.  Internet field trips, videos, and books all have their place in the classroom but the experience of seeing for yourself is hard to replicate.  I am leading a trip of students and parents to Rome (Italy and Austria) this year and spending some time with the Roman artifacts in Indy made me more excited to take my students to see The Forum, St. Peter’s Basilica and The Colosseum in person.  And even though I am an avid supporter of games……a computer screen and digital animation can’t replace the real thing.

And for good measure, after leaving the museum we hit P.F. Chang’s for lunch.  It was my first trip to P.F. Chang’s and I would certainly go back.  My wife loves the place and has been many times with her girlfriends.  So my day started with coffee from Seattle followed with Ancient Rome and was completed to a meal from modern China.  Quite an interesting day!

Leave a Reply

