Should I be Texting?

I had a thought…….which is a rare moment in my life.  Kids carry phones in and out of school.  When kids are on phones during the school day (which they are not supposed to be) they are texting.  So after a collection of homework yesterday in my world history classes…..which followed the basic trend of –if I assign work to be done at home– the return rate is very low.  I asked my classes what they thought of the idea of me texting them to remind them to do their homework.  That idea was met with an overwhelming YES.  Many kids said they didn’t do their homework simply because they didn’t remember.  Is that story legit?  Probably.  I thought that when I really need to remind myself to do something what do I do?  Well, I email myself at two different emails that I use.  So I see the reminder twice. 

Now what is the rock and hard place here.  Kids want the text message before the school day is out.  School policy  says NO PHONES during the school day.  If I text them prior to the end of the school day which is what they want so they can take their textbook home…..am I encouraging them to break school rules?  Would I be subject to discipline from the school just like they would be for using their phones during the day?  I am struggling with this one………..

3 responses to “Should I be Texting?

  1. Is it against school policy for teachers to use cell phones? You can’t control when or if the students use or check their own cell phones unless it’s in your classroom.

    I almost want to say that you should ask for forgiveness instead of permission with your admins, but I think this might be one where you can show how the technology that is “banned” can be useful if used correctly. Maybe you can talk them into changing the policy.

    Fighting the students with a cell phone policy is a lose – lose battle on the teachers end. We all know that they use them. Maybe we should be teaching them how to use their phones with good social etiquette.

  2. I agree with J.D. Williams.

    80% of people 13-24 years old with a mobile phone text message. Of course they will, it’s an adorable, quiet little way for them to pass notes back and forth, beyond class borders.

    That’s pretty powerful, especially for a kid. Since 50% of kids have cell phones, and my phone at least can receive messages regardless (can’t send), that’s going to be a lot of texting going on if it’s banned or not. And what better time to start texting than when you’re faced with boring World History?

    How is this ban enforced? From what I’ve seen, we just yoink the phone when we see it out. Since a total crackdown on cells would be a disaster (some have their phones stowed away in their backpacks for after-school reasons), signs point to cell phone use, and texting, being a thing to stay.

    So, the second best thing to do (besides ignore it, which would also be a disaster) is to try and work with it. If the administration could see it’s potential, sending quick reminders or announcements through an otherwise annoying system, perhaps they’d give you the green light.

    It’s worth a try, and whatever you do, don’t let this idea die without doing anything with it.

  3. If you want to set it up so that your not texting, most carriers offer an email address that the text will go to.. like phonenumber@vtext.com for verizon. If you get all the kids numbers and service providers, you can just send out an email before the end of the day.

    Or, just put a list of the format of the email address up on the board for most providers, and have the students give you an index card or something with their “email address” on it. That way your not breaking any rules, and you wouldn’t have an outrageous number of text messages sent if you have a plan that limits your amount of texts.

    This might help (number is the 10 digit phone number):
    Verizon: number@vtext.com
    AT&T: number@mmode.com
    Sprint: number@messaging.sprintpcs.com
    T-Mobile: number@tmomail.net
    Nextel: number@messaging.nextel.com
    Cingular: number@cingularme.com
    Virgin Mobile: number@vmobl.com
    Alltel: number@alltelmessage.com
    CellularOne: number@mobile.celloneusa.com
    Qwest: number@qwestmp.com

Leave a Reply

