Reflections on Making History Game Play

Our game play is done and the best way for me to assess how I did teaching this unit is to have them write about it.  Let me share some quotes from essays the students have been writing.

Nate says:  “I recieved a higher understanding of politics and diplomacy.  It taught me how hard it was for coutnries to avoid war in 1938. I learned how important governments are and how many tasks they have to attend to.”

Lauren says: “I learned that one wrong decision can determine the outcome of your life.  It all lies in the leaders hands.  I also learned that every decision you make is vital to your country and its economy.  It is also very hard to please every single country, without turnig you back on another.”

Jacob says:  “The Munich Conference was when the U.K., Italy, Germany, and France (not Czech. and Russia) met in Germany and decided to let Germany take the Sudetenland from the Czechs.  They wanted to appease Hitler so he would stop being so aggressive………..it didn’t work.”

I have around 140 of these types of essays some are outstanding, most are good, and some are stinkers.  But every time I have used Making History I have students write and every year I am impressed at the thoughtfullness that comes out in their work. 

I will try to post some pics later today from our day with CBS.  Our high school yearbook came and snapped a couple of pics that they are going to share with me.

5 responses to “Reflections on Making History Game Play

  1. Hi Dave!

    Heard the filming went great, and you and your stents are going to be stars! Congrats!

    I hope that makes up for the disappointment of the Colts geting beaten by the Pats tomorrow? 😉

    Chris–

  2. Umm, make that students, not stents.

    I hope the Pats football is better than my typing…

  3. Chris

    The filming was great. I think the game and my students performed well.

    Now to the important stuff…….for the next 18 hours…all Pats lovers are now the enemy! How sweet it will be to beat the Pats 24-23…..on a last second field goal by my new favorite Colt…Adam Vinatieri (evil laugh) ha…ha….ha……ha

    Dave

  4. Well, congrats on the Colts amazing comeback. It was a great game (although I wish the Pats had stopped that last drive!)

    You realize if they win, this will be Adam’s 4th ring!

    Guess you have to host a Superbowl party now, eh?

    Chris–

  5. Sounds really interesting. We had a guy here who taught business using Civ 3 and it, apparently, went down a storm.

    All the best.

Leave a Reply

